LibGuides: Find Articles and Books: Reference

Reference Resources

These online resources are useful in providing broad overviews of topics. They also help you to develop keywords/synonyms to use in researching journal and book databases. Brief articles can be found in encyclopedias, subject dictionaries, and biographical sources. They provide a good starting point that is similar to Wikipedia, but these are credible academic sources from the world's leading publishers.

Britannica Academic Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the complete Encyclopedia Britannica and includes illustrations, photographs, and audio & video.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering multiple subject areas.
History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive full text content for many of the most popular hobbies, crafts and recreation activities today.
Home Improvement Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text articles that show instructions, tips, and suggestions for a variety of home improvement projects.
Legal Information Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Providing online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, it contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo.
Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers pro and con views on contemporary issues and current events.
Science Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Small Business Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business, offering full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books. It supports small business owners in all relevant areas from planning, financing and managing a business.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides the full set of Clymer small engine repair manuals including step-by-step procedures for repairing motorcycles, ATVs, marine/boat motors, personal watercraft engines, lawn mowers, tractors, tillers, generators and more.
Vocational & Career Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.

Congressional Research Service Reports
The Government Documents Department of the University of North Texas Libraries created this searchable database of reports that were originally researched and written by the Congressional Research Service (a federal agency) at the request of Congressional members/staff/committees. The database can be searched by keywords or browsed by subject.