LibGuides: Find Articles and Books: Journals & Magazines

Searching with Library Databases

The Library subscribes to a variety of databases that can be used to search and access scholarly articles and other types of media, like videos. Popular databases are grouped below by topic.

General

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Contains 19,000+ Pro/Con arguments and 13,000+ current topic overviews.

Science and Medicine

Science Direct This link opens in a new window
Offers access to science, medical, and technical journal articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.

CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 610 nursing journals indexed in the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL®).

PubMed
This database was developed by the National Library of Medicine and contains more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature. Check the "Nursing Journals" Subset box under Limits to retrieve articles from nursing journals only.

Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
World's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

Hawaii Pacific

Hawaiian Journal of History
"First published in 1967, this is an annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Each issue includes articles on a variety of subjects; illustrations; book reviews; notes and queries; and a bibliography of Hawaiiana titles of historical interest."
Hawaii Pacific Journal Index
The Hawaii Pacific Journal Index is a citation index (not full-text) that covers 140 journals published in or about Hawaii and the Pacific. It covers all subjects and includes peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as popular press magazines. Coverage dates back to the 1890s. All publication titles are available through Hamilton Library.
ScholarSpace - UH Manoa
Open access database containing the scholarly works and unique collections of the UH Manoa academic community, including theses and dissertations.
UH Center for Oral History
Online transcripts of all the Center's oral history projects, available through ScholarSpace, including:
The 1924 Filipino Strike on Kauai
Koloa: An Oral History of a Kauai Community

Current Social & Political Issues

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Explores a current hot topic in the news in depth each week. (44 reports per year). Reports, written by seasoned journalists, include broad overviews, historical background, and opposing viewpoints written by experts in the field.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Contains 19,000+ Pro/Con arguments and 13,000+ current topic overviews.

History & Humanities

History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for 300 journals covering world religions, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.

Literature & Literary Criticism

Literary Reference Center (EBSCO)
Literary Reference Center™ is a full-text database provides a broad spectrum of research information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Literary Reference Center contains the following content: plot summaries, synopses, work overviews, articles/essays of literary criticism, author biographies, literary journals, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems, classic and contemporary short stories, author interviews, and classic novels.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive literary biographies written by scholars of more than 140,000 authors. Entries include information on authors' lives, careers and critical reviews of their works.
Poetry & Short Story Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of thousands of classic and contemporary poems, as well as short stories, biographies and authoritative essays on such topics as poetic forms, movements and techniques.
Literature Resource Center (HSPLS) This link opens in a new window
This literary criticism database contains review articles for over 130,000 authors and is available through the Hawaii State Public Library System. You must have a public library card number to access. The password is usually the last 4 digits of your phone number.

Other Popular Subject Specific Databases

Here is a selected list of the most popular EBSCO subject databases. For a full listing of all EBSCO databases, go here.


	Business Source Complete	Business
	Legal Collection	Business & Law
	Small Business Reference Center	Business
	Professional Development Collection	Education
	ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)	Education
	Agricola	Agriculture
	Green File	Environment
	Computer Source	Computer Science
	Vocational & Career Collection	Careers
	Newspaper Source Plus	US & World News

A-Z Database List

The A-Z Database List contains links to all the database subscriptions for our library. Most require a UH user name and password. The list can also be searched by Subjects (such as English, Nursing, Botany, etc.) Click on "View More Results" below the Go button to use this feature.