Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image: Trent University
This Guide was created to help direct you to the many excellent English and literature-related resources available through our library and the other UH System Libraries. It will lead you to print & e-books, to online databases for full-text magazine & journal articles, to streaming films/videos and to recommended academic websites. It is not an exhastive list, but should serve as a starting point for your research. If you need additional assistance, please call (245-8253) , e-mail (firstname.lastname@example.org) or come into the library.
Search the UH Voyager Catalog for Books
Search for Magazine / Journal Articles
The Academic Search Complete database offers full-text access to more than 8,500 journal titles.
JSTOR is a database offered through the Hawaii State Public Library System. It contains digitized back issues of academic journals and also includes books and other primary sources. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals.
NOTE: You must use a Hawaii State Public Library card # to access this database.
Other Article & Reference Databases
An essential tool to find background information on research topics and to generate synonyms for keywords. Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 100 videos. Must use UH login and password to access off-campus.
Gale Dictionary of Literary Biography
Provides comprehensive literary biographies written by scholars of more than 140,000 authors. Entries include information on authors' lives, careers and critical reviews of their works.
Finding Resources on Topics of Local Interest
To find information about local and regional topics, newspapers, magazines, and journals are often the main sources of information . From the Garden Island newspaper to the Honolulu newspapers (current and past ) to indexes that cover periodicals from the Pacific region, the list of links below should be useful to begin your research.
The Garden Island Newspaper
To search the back issues (archives) try the advanced search option: http://thegardenisland.com/search/advanced/
Honolulu Advertiser (ProQuest Newpapers)
Full text from January 1, 1999 to June 6, 2010.
Hawaiian Journal of History
"First published in 1967, this is an annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Each issue includes articles on a variety of subjects; illustrations; book reviews; notes and queries; and a bibliography of Hawaiiana titles of historical interest."
Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star Bulletin Archives
The back issues of these two newspapers (which were combined in June 2010) are available through the Star Advertiser website for the following dates:
March 18, 1996 - June 6, 2010
March 15, 2001 - June 6, 2010
Index to the Honolulu Advertiser and the Star-Bulletin from the Hawaii State Public Library, 1989-current
This is an index only, full text is not available through the database. Full-text of articles are available on microfilm or some articles can be accessed through the specific newspaper websites, through EBSCO's Newspaper Source, and through Google searches on article titles.
Hawaii Pacific Journal Index
The Hawaii Pacific Journal Index is a citation index (not full-text) that covers 140 journals published in or about Hawaii and the Pacific. It covers all subjects and includes peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as popular press magazines. Coverage dates back to the 1890s. All publication titles are available through Hamilton Library.
Finding Topics for Research Papers
||CQ Researcher is a weekly journal that has been focusing on current, controversial topics since 1923. Each single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. It is known for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. It includes a broad overview of the issue, the historical background, and opposing viewpoints of experts on the subject.
||Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains 19,000+ Pro/Con arguments and 13,000+ Topic Overviews. A great resource for research papers. Use password hawaii until set up is complete for KCC access.
|| Procon.org is a public policy non-profit organization that offers information on 42 controversial issues.
|| Hot Paper Topics from St. Ambrose University offers ideas for over 45 current topics
Library E-Books on the Research Process
Films Related to Literature & Language
Over 14,000 streaming videos are available through Films on Demand. There are over 1000 films listed in the English & Language Arts subject category, focusing on American, British & Irish and World literature, Drama & the Theatre, Linguistics, and Speech & Communication.
Check out this film, Frankenstein and the Vampyre: A Dark and Stormy Night, a documentary on the origins of 2 of the most famous gothic novels and their lasting impact on modern literature.
Developing a Research Question - A YouTube Video