Online Reference Tools: Home

This site offers a simple search form for the Merriam Webster Dictionary and the Merriam Webster Thesaurus.

Produced by the CIA, this site provides information on the history, people, government, and economy of 267 countries.

A major source of economic, social, and educational statistics for the U.S.

This helpful resource takes you completely through the writing process and includes solid information on how to develop effective writing skills, such as tips on how to develop a thesis statement, how to write effective essays, and help with rules of grammar and punctuation.

From Johns Hopkins University, this guide provides an in-depth examination of evaluation criteria.

From Cornell University, this page explains the structure and content of annotated bibliographies.

From Honolulu Community College

Purdue University's OWL site offers samples of MLA entries.

Also from Purdue's OWL site.

From David Taylor, a senior writing advisor at University of Maryland University College's Effective Writing Center. Has been viewed over 1.8 million times.

From the American Psychological Association, this slide show covers the basics of APA style of citation, which is used in the Social Sciences.

From Purdue University's OWL.

From the University of Chicago Press, which publishes the Turabian guide.

"A fully automatic bibliography maker that auto-fills."

From North Carolina State University Library, this is another popular program for automatically formatting references in a bibliography or reference list.

An interactive Web tool that formats your entries to create standard APA or MLA citations.