Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Kaua'i Community College Library

Distance Learning Library Services

Finding Full-Text Journal Articles Online

As a UH student you have access to thousands of online journal articles through our subscription databases. All UH libraries provide access to the EBSCO Host databases, which include Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, CINAHL, Health Source Nursing, Professional Development Collection (education), GreenFile, and many others.

UH Manoa, UH Hilo, and UH West Oahu subscribe to unique databases that support their programs and courses, and that may not be available to UH System students from other campuses. Distance students taking courses at these campuses can access these databases by using the library websites at their respective campuses, because many of these databases are not available through the Kauai CC library website.

EBSCO Host Databases for Kauai CC Distance Students

For students taking Kauai CC distance courses, all the databases on the A - Z database list are available for off-campus access, including these popular EBSCO databases:

EBSCO Database Tutorials

To learn the basics of searching EBSCO Host databases, try these tutorials for both general and subject specific databases.  

Student ID Validation to Access UH Subscription Databases

UH Distance students taking courses from UH Manoa, UH Hilo, or UH West Oahu need to VALIDATE their student status online each semester in order to access online library resources.

Each of these libraries has unique online databases, which can only be accessed by currently enrolled students at each respective campus.

Online validation is not immediate - it will take 1 or more days, excluding week-ends and holidays.

Journal Databases for UH Manoa Students

For full-text journal articles online, try the A - Z Database link on the Hamilton Library website. To look at resources by subject, check out this List of Guides. Each guide will have a tab for articles at the top of the page to lead you to online journal databases for that subject. Examples of guides for popular UHM programs follow:

Journal Databases for UH Hilo Distance Students

UH Hilo students can search for online journals 4 different ways: using large multi-subject databases, using subject specific databases, browsing an aphabetical list of databases, or searching by specific journal title.

Finding Articles in the Hawaii State Public Library System

Hawaii State Public Library System

If you have a public library card, you can access several databases through the Hawaii State Public Library System.
You must enter your public library card number and your pin number (usually the last 4 digits of your phone number).
For literary criticism sources, check out the Literature Resource Center  or try the ChiltonLibrary for car repair manuals