Skip to Main Content
Kaua'i Community College Library

ENG257T : Introduction to Children's Literature

Children's Literature Awards

Newbery Award (List of award winners)
The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children's book published the previous year.  "To encourage original creative work in the field of books for children. To emphasize to the public that contributions to the literature for children deserve similar recognition to poetry, plays, or novels. To give those librarians, who make it their life work to serve children's reading interests, an opportunity to encourage good writing in this field."

Caldecott Medal (List of award winners)
The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. 

Asian Pacific American Librarians Association Literature Awards (List of award winners)
The goal of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature is to honor and recognize individual work about Asian/Pacific Americans and their heritage, based on literary and artistic merit.  Awards are given annually for Young Adult Literature, Children's Literature, and Picture Book.