Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Resources for Land Research
Waihona 'Āina - Mahele Records
Mahele database, Boundary Commission, Royal Patent, and Land Grants.
Papakilo: Database created by the Office of Hawaiian Affairs. Currently includes Hawaiian Genealogy Indexes, Hawaiian Place Names Collection, Historic Sites Database, Mahele ‘Aina Indexes, Maps and Newspapers. You will need to create an account, separate from your UH account, to search the Papakilo Database.
Maps of Henry E. P. Kekahuna
Heiau Maps drawn by Henry E. P. Kekahuna
Hawaiian Place Names
Place names compiled from the Records of Boundary Commission and the Board of COmmissioners to Quiet Land Titles of the Kingdom of Hawai'i.
Blount Report, Hawai'i Organic Act, & Anti Annexation Petition
Digitized versions of the Blount Report, Hawai'i Organic Act, and Anti-Annexation Petition available here.
Kipuka This link opens in a new window
A geographical information system (GIS) that utilizes the latest mapping technologies to provide a window into native Hawaiian land, culture and history. Kipuka links historic data sets to geographic locations reinforcing the concept of information embedded in the ‘aina (land), encoded in the wahi inoa (place name).
Available online from Ulukau. Go to Glossary to find listing of place names.
Places Associated with Legends, Winds & Rains