Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Preparing for Research
1. Always consult with family first. This will give you an idea of where you need to start.
2. Utilize a genealogy chart to fill in information.
3. Note where information is found.
Papakilo Database This link opens in a new window
Papakilo: Database created by the Office of Hawaiian Affairs. Currently includes Hawaiian Genealogy Indexes, Hawaiian Place Names Collection, Historic Sites Database, Mahele ‘Aina Indexes, Maps and Newspapers. You will need to create an account, separate from your UH account, to search the Papakilo Database.
Marriages, Divorces, Deaths, Citizenship Index
Search Marriages, Divorces, Deaths, and Citizenships Index. Will provide a number to request full document from State of Hawai'i Archive.
Cemeteries of Kauai, by William Kenji Kikuchi
Call number: RA629 .M38 I85 1990
List arranged by cemetery, then alphabetically by name of the individual, with birth and death dates, age, sex, location. Some maps with grave locations indicated.
Hawaii Cemetery Site Directory
This link includes all islands of Hawaii with reference to call numbers for each specific island. All books are located in the General Reference Section.
Individual Cemetery Site Directory and Other Tombstone Inscription Data, Island of Oahu, 1986 Survey, by Nanette Napoleon Purnell
Call number: RA629.A4 H364 1986 v.1 & v.2
Arranged by cemetery with alphabetically listed names of individual, birth and death dates, relationship, and kind of tombstone.
Husted's Directory of Honolulu and the Hawaiian Territory
A digitized copy of the Husted's Directory of Honolulu and the Hawaiian Territory. This directory covers all of Hawaii. Ranging from 1880-1906