Nursing Subject Guide: Research Tools

Can search chronic and infectious diseases by categories and by County and by ethnicity.

From the Office of Women's Health, US Dept. of Health & Human Services

This is part of the National KIDS COUNT Data Center, which includes access to hundreds of indicators of child well-being including economic status, health, safety, and risk factors.

This will take you through the steps to locate and retrieve journal articles from the multi-disciplinary Academic Search Complete database which covers over 8,500 full-text journals.

From Johns Hopkins University, this guide provides an in-depth examination of evaluation criteria.

If you need to learn about citation styles, try this tutorial from the University of Minnesota and make sure you know how to cite your sources correctly.

From the Medical Library Association.

Boolean operators are connectors (AND, OR, NOT) used to retrieve more precise and relevant search results.

From Purdue's OWL (Online Writing Lab) site.

From the American Psychological Association, this slide show covers the basics of APA style of citation, which is used in the Social Sciences.

From David Taylor, a senior writing advisor at University of Maryland University College's Effective Writing Center. Has been viewed over 1.4 million times.

An interactive Web tool that formats your entries to create standard APA citations.

From North Carolina State University Library, this is another popular program for automatically formatting references in a bibliography or reference list.

"A fully automatic bibliography maker that auto-fills."