LibGuides: Nursing Subject Guide: Nursing Journals & Databases

Nursing Databases Tutorials

CINAHL Basic Tutorial (3:18)

CINAHL Advanced Tutorial (3:45)

Using the CINAHL/MeSH Headings Feature

Citing Journal Articles

Nursing Journal Databases

CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 610 nursing journals indexed in the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL®).

PubMed
This database was developed by the National Library of Medicine and contains more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central. Check the "Nursing Journals" Subset box under Limits to retrieve articles from nursing journals only.
PubMed for Nurses
These videos provide a helpful introduction to searching literature in PubMed. Each of the 4 videos is between 2-3 minutes.
Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition
Another EBSCO database that provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Geriatric Nursing Journal
Open access to recent full-text articles from this nursing journal is provided through this Science Direct link.
Alt-HealthWatch
Also from EBSCO, this database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.

PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). It contains over 4 million full-text articles.

Print Journals in the Library

All journals are located on the 1st floor of the library. The most current issue is on display and issues for the past year are located underneath the flip-up shelves. Older issues (up to 3 years) are located in storage and require librarian assistance for retrieval.

American Journal of Nursing
Journal of Gerontological Nursing
Journal of Nursing Education
Nursing
Nursing Clinics of North America
Nursing Management
Nursing Research

Consumer Health Information

Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.