LibGuides: Old Find Journal & Newspaper Articles: Journals & Magazines

Credo Reference

Credo Reference is an essential tool to find background information on research topics. Search > 600 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and quotations, as well as 200,000+ images. Must use UH login and password to access off-campus.

Online Britannica

Encyclopedia Britannica: Academic Edition
Find background information on thousands of topics.

Hawaii Pacific Sources

Hawaiian Journal of History
"First published in 1967, this is an annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Each issue includes articles on a variety of subjects; illustrations; book reviews; notes and queries; and a bibliography of Hawaiiana titles of historical interest."
Hawaii Pacific Journal Index
The Hawaii Pacific Journal Index is a citation index (not full-text) that covers 140 journals published in or about Hawaii and the Pacific. It covers all subjects and includes peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as popular press magazines. Coverage dates back to the 1890s. All publication titles are available through Hamilton Library.
ScholarSpace - UH Manoa
Open access database containing the scholarly works and unique collections of the UH Manoa academic community, including theses and dissertations.
UH Center for Oral History
Online transcripts of all the Center's oral history projects, available through ScholarSpace, including:
The 1924 Filipino Strike on Kauai and Koloa: An Oral History of a Kauai Community.

UH Manoa E-Journals

E-Journals Available at UH Manoa
Search UH Manoa's e-journal and ebook titles by subject, provider, title and/or ISSN.

Multi-Subject Journal Research Databases

EBSCOhost provides the UH system with a number of databases that cover a wide range of subjects.

EBSCO Academic Search Complete

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full-text for over 8,500 journals. This is the major database for UH system users that covers multiple subjects. You must have a valid UH student number to access off-campus.

List of KCC's EBSCO Journal Databases

A list of 46 EBSCOhost databases that are available to Kauai Community College students. You must have a valid UH student number to access off-campus.

EBSCO Subject Specific Journal Databases

This is a partial listing of the 46 databases from the Kauai Community College EBSCO subscription. Use the link in the box above to see the complete list.

	CINAHL with Full Text	Nursing
	Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition	Nursing
	Business Source Complete	Business
	Business Searching Interface	Business
	Small Business Reference Center	Business
	Professional Development Collection	Education
	ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)	Education
	Agricola	Agriculture
	Green File	Environment
	Computer Source	Computer Science
	Vocational & Career Collection	Careers
	Newspaper Source Plus	US & World News

Literary Criticism

Literature Resource Center (HSPLS) This link opens in a new window
This literary criticism database contains review articles for over 130,000 authors and is available through the Hawaii State Public Library System. You must have a public library card number to access. The password is usually the last 4 digits of your phone number.

Science and Medical Journals

Science Direct This link opens in a new window
This is a leading scientific database offering science, medical, and technical journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and over 11,000 book chapters. There are currently more than 10 million articles/chapters available with archives going back as far as 1823.

PubMed
This database was developed by the National Library of Medicine and contains more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature. Check the "Nursing Journals" Subset box under Limits to retrieve articles from nursing journals only.

Current Issues & Hot Topics

Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains 19,000+ Pro/Con arguments and 13,000+ Topic Overviews. A great resource for research papers. It is a rich resource for debaters and for students writing argumentative essays, that includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.

CQ Researcher is a weekly journal that has been focusing on current, controversial topics since 1923. Each single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. It provides unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. It includes a broad overview of the issue, the historical background, and opposing viewpoints of experts on the subject. There are 44 reports each year and the full-text coverage goes back to 1991.

Congressional Research Service Reports
The Government Documents Department of the University of North Texas Libraries created this searchable database of reports that were originally researched and written by the Congressional Research Service (a federal agency) at the request of Congressional members/staff/committees. The database can be searched by keywords or browsed by subject.

Kauai CC Library A-Z Journals List

Find full-text journals and e-books by title and by subject (category).