This is the "Home" page of the "Linguistics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Linguistics  

Last Updated: Oct 4, 2016 URL: http://libguides.kauai.hawaii.edu/language Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Electronic Books

Cover Art
The Emergence of Pidgin and Creole Languages - Jeff Siegel
Call Number: Electronic Book
Publication Date: 2008


Cover Art
Language, Culture, and Society - Zdenek Salzmann
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
I Am a Linguist - Robert M. W. Dixon
Call Number: Electronic Book
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
An Introduction to Linguistics and Language Studies - Anne McCabe
Call Number: Electronic Book
Publication Date: 2011

 

Introduction to the Study of Language

 

Films on Demand

Over 14,000 educational videos are available through Films on Demand. There are 265 film segments on Linguistics. Click on the picture to check out a sample film

Birth & Death: the Life Cycle of a Language is part of the series Speaking In Tongues (47 minutes). 

Requires UH user name and password.

 

Print Books in the Library

Cover Art
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language - David Crystal
Call Number: Reference P29 .C64 1997
Publication Date: 1997

Cover Art
A Companion to the History of the English Language - Haruko Momma (Editor)
Call Number: General Collection PE1072 .C56 2008
Publication Date: 2008

Cover Art
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics - William Bright (Editor)
Call Number: Reference P29 .I58 1991
Publication Date: 1992

 

Find Journal Articles

EBSCO Academic Search Complete

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full-text for over 8,500 journals. This is the major database for UH system users that covers multiple subjects. You must have a valid UH student number to access off-campus.

Websites

 

NY Times Articles on Language

News about Language and Languages, including commentary and archival articles published in The New York Times.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip