LibGuides: Linguistics: Home

Electronic Books

The Emergence of Pidgin and Creole Languages by Jeff Siegel
Call Number: Electronic Book
Publication Date: 2008
Birdsong, Speech, and Language: Exploring the Evolution of Mind and Brain by Johan J. Bolhuis (Editor)
Call Number: Electronic Book
Publication Date: 2013
I Am a Linguist by Robert M. W. Dixon
Call Number: Electronic Book
Publication Date: 2010
The Languages of the World by Kenneth Katzner
Call Number: Electronic Book
Publication Date: 2002

Introduction to the Study of Language

Films on Demand

Over 14,000 educational videos are available through Films on Demand. There are 265 film segments on Linguistics. Click on the picture to check out a sample film

Birth & Death: the Life Cycle of a Language is part of the series Speaking In Tongues (47 minutes).

Requires UH user name and password.

Print Books in the Library

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language by David Crystal
Call Number: Reference P29 .C64 1997
Publication Date: 1997
A Companion to the History of the English Language by Haruko Momma (Editor)
Call Number: General Collection PE1072 .C56 2008
Publication Date: 2008
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics by William Bright (Editor)
Call Number: Reference P29 .I58 1991
Publication Date: 1992

Find Journal Articles

EBSCO Academic Search Complete

A multi-disciplinary database that provides full-text for over 8,500 journals. This is the major database for UH system users that covers multiple subjects. You must have a valid UH student number to access off-campus.

Websites

Linguist List
Dedicated to providing information on language and language analysis. LINGUIST is a free resource, run by linguistics professors and graduate students.
Ethnologue
Contains information on over 7,000 languages.
The Rosetta Project
Includes language recordings of over 2500 languages. "As a linguistic collection, it also serves to draw attention to the drastic and accelerated loss of the world’s languages."
The Modern Language Association Language Map
Provides data on over three hundred languages spoken in the United States, using US Census data.
Native Languages of the Americas
A compendium of online materials about more than 800 indigenous languages of the Western Hemisphere and the people that speak them.
Everytongue.com
Provides sound clips of thousands of languages/dialects.
Linguistics, Natural Language, and Computational Linguistics Meta-index
"A guide to the best linguistic resources on the web" from Stanford University.

NY Times Articles on Language

News about Language and Languages, including commentary and archival articles published in The New York Times.

Language and Languages