This is the "Home" page of the "Culinary Arts" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Culinary Arts  

A guide to resources for Culinary Arts and Food Science at Kaua`i Community College.
Last Updated: Aug 18, 2016 URL: http://libguides.kauai.hawaii.edu/content.php?pid=576923 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Journal Article Databases

Food Prep

  • EBSCO Journal & Magazine Databases
    Select ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE and MASTERFILE COMPLETE which offer FULL TEXT access to a combined total of over 6,000 periodicals. Search using culinary and food service terms, such as "French cooking" or "food safety", and limit results to FULL TEXT. Includes "Journal of Culinary Science & Technology", "Vegetarian Times", "Food & Nutrition" and "Gourmet", among many others.
 

Print Journals in the Library

Magazines are located in the Journal/Magazine Alcove on the first floor and are filed alphabetically.  Current issues are on the shelves; older issues are in storage.  Please ask for assistance. Journals and magazines are for in-library use only and cannot be checked out.




Cover Art
Honolulu
Each year, HONOLULU has a "Dining Awards" issue with the best restaurants listed and a "Super Cheap Eats!" issue.

Cover Art
Edible Hawaiian Islands
Celebrating the harvest of Hawai`i, season by season.

Cover Art
Island Scene
HMSA magazine which includes healthy recipe sections.

 

Culinary Arts Information Resources Sheet

       

Information Resources for Culinary Arts

                                                     

 

Electronic Books

Cover Art
Food Safety - Ian C. Shaw
Call Number: ELECTRONIC
ISBN: 144433722X
Publication Date: 2012-12-26
The most important factor of food service, covering everything from bacteria and preservatives to GMOs and organic food.

 

Basic Knife Skills with Chef Tomm

 

Culinary Institute of America DVDs at KCC

DVDs are available for viewing in the library or for faculty check-out.

Culinary Institute of America
Complete list of CIA DVDs and videos available to KCC students.

Basic kitchen preparations
Call Number: DVD 177



KCC Culinary Arts Program Information

CREDO Online Reference Database

  • Credo Reference
    An essential tool to find background information on research topics and to generate synonyms for keywords. Search in encyclopedias, dictionaries, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 100 videos. Culinary reference titles include: DELUXE FOOD LOVER'S COMPANION and the DICTIONARY OF FOOD.

    Must use UH login and password to access off-campus.
 

KCC Culinary Reference Books - Featured

Cover Art
Larousse Gastronomique - Librairie Larousse Staff
Call Number: Reference Collection TX349 .L365 2001
ISBN: 0609609718
Publication Date: 2001-10-02

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Foods and Their Healing Power - George D. Pamplona-Roger, M.D.
Call Number: Reference Collection TX353.P3675 E13 2006 V. 1-3
ISBN: 8472081842
Publication Date: 2006

 

Need Help?

gmelin@hawaii.edu 

or

mckenna@hawaii.edu

KCC Reference Desk Phone:

808-245-8253

KCC Circulation Desk Phone:

808-245-8233

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip