Resources for research in Hawaiian Studies
Last Updated: Jan 12, 2017
- Ethnographic Video Online
This streaming video collection offers 269 films featuring indigenous peoples of the Pacific, including several Eddie Kamae films, such as Listen to the Forest.
- Hawaii Alive: Bringing Hawaiian Culture to Life
Explore the cultural collections of Bishop Museum
- Hawaiian and Pacific Images
297 images from the Hawaiian and Pacific Collection at Hamilton Library, University of Hawaii at Manoa
- Films on Demand
There are several films related to Hawaii and Hawaiian culture and history in our major streaming video provider. Requires current UH student user name and password.
- Streaming Hawaiian Videos: Mānaleo from Sinclair Library at UH Manoa
Mānaleo was a television show that aired on the ʻŌlelo television network. It features interviews with native speakers of Hawaiian, many of whom are kupuna discussing their lives and traditional Hawaiian knowledge. The dialogue is in Hawaiian with no English subtitles. (From UH Sinclair Library description)
- Papakilo Database
From the Office of Hawaiian Affairs, this site offers links to varied collections of data pertaining to historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawai'i’s history.
- Kipuka Database
A geographical information system (GIS) that utilizes the latest mapping technologies to provide a window into native Hawaiian land, culture and history. Kipuka links historic data sets to geographic locations reinforcing the concept of information embedded in the ‘aina (land), encoded in the wahi inoa (place name).
- Hawaii State Archives Digital Collections
Includes links to genealogy and land indexes, vital statistics for Kauai from 1826 - 1929 and many other resources.
- State of Hawaii Data Book
- Thrum's Hawaiian Almanac, 1875-1923
from the Hawaiian Collection at UHM's Hamilton Library.
- Hawaiian Dictionary