Resources for research in Hawaiian Studies
Last Updated: Jan 12, 2017
- Hawaii Journal Index
The Hawaii Pacific Journal Index is a citation index (not full-text) that covers 140 journals published in or about Hawaii and the Pacific. It covers all subjects and includes peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as popular press magazines. Coverage dates back to the 1890s. All publication titles are available through Hamilton Library.
- The Hawaiian Historical Societies: Hawaiian Journal of History
The Hawaiian Journal of History, first published in 1967, is an annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Each issue includes articles on a variety of subjects; illustrations; book reviews; notes and queries; and a bibliography of Hawaiiana titles of historical interest.
- The Journal of the Polynesian Society
Journal Ranges from 1892-2009. The Polynesian Society is a non-profit organization based at the University of Auckland, New Zealand. The early issues of the Journal contain a rich repository of indigenous texts and traditions contributed by Pacific peoples, as well as by missionaries and other sojourners, often published in local languages with English translations. Among the scholars who have long contributed articles to the Journal are social/cultural anthropologists, archaeologists, historians, linguists and physical/biological anthropologists working in Micronesia and Melanesia, as well as Polynesia.
In Hawaiʻi, 1,250 newspaper titles were published between 1834 and 2000.
We have online access to:
- The Garden Isle Newspaper Current
To search for past articles, click on the link, "Search Archives" on the navigation bar at the top of the screen
- The Garden Island Newspaper - Digitized -1922
You can search by state: Hawaii or just the Garden Island Newspaper. Digitized up to 1922.
- Ho'olaupa'i Hawaiian Language Newspaper Collection
Includes a collection of historic Hawaiian-language newspapers published between 1834 and 1948. The newspaper images can be retrieved by word search, title, or date.
- The Friend
First published in Jan. 1843, the Friend began as a monthly newspaper. It eventually added announcements of upcoming events, reprints of sermons, poetry, local news, editorials, ship arrivals and departures and a listing of marriages and deaths. This resource is digitized and searchable.
- Index to the Honolulu Advertiser and the Star-Bulletin from the Hawaii State Public Library, 1989-current
This is an index only, full text is not available through the database. Full-text of articles are available on microfilm or some articles can be accessed through the specific newspaper websites, through EBSCO's Newspaper Source, and through Google searches on article titles.
- Chronicling America
Access to 255 English language newspapers from throughout the U.S., covering 1860-1922, including 12 from Hawaiʻi. New titles and content added continuously.
- Bob Krauss Research Index
Find articles from a number of English language newspapers from Hawaiʻi. Indexing is not comprehensive, but is extensive and covers early years going back into the 1800s.
- Helen Chapin's Guide to Newspapers of Hawaiʻi, 1834-2000
Provides descriptions of Hawaiʻi's newspapers, including years of publication, place of publication, language, target audience, and publishers. This index includes newspaper titles. There is no newspaper content or articles. Use this index to find titles of newspapers published in Hawaiʻi during a particular time period, written in a particular language,targeting a certain audience, etc.