Resources for research in Hawaiian Studies
Last Updated: Jan 12, 2017
- Center for Oral History Index to Oral Histories
Search by topic of interviews, then search voyagercatalog for the transcript and/or audio.
- Life Histories of Native Hawaiians
Published: Ethnic Studies Oral History Project, University of Hawai'i 1978
Call number: H/P DU 624.65 .U55 1978
- Aloha Ni'ihau: Oral Histories
Published: Waipahu, Hawai'i: Island Heritage Pub., 2007
Call number: H/P DU 624.65 .A45 2007
- Catalog of Oral History Collections in Hawaii
Published: Ethnic Studies Oral History Project, University of Hawaii 1982
Call Number: DU624.5 C37 1982a
- Master Index to the ESOHP Interviews 1976-83
Published:Ethnic Studies Oral History Project, University of Hawaii at Manoa, c1984
Call Number: DU624.5 M38
- Index to William Ellis Journals
Published: University of Hawaii at Manoa, Committee for the Preservation and Study of Hawaiian Language, Art and Culture, 1980
Call Number: DU 623 E47 I5
- Ka Leo o Hawaiʻi tapes
Call Number: DU624.65 .L43 1993
- Waihona 'Āina - Mahele Records
Mahele database, Boundary Commission, Royal Patent, and Land Grants.
- Papakilo database
Papakilo: Database created by the Office of Hawaiian Affairs. Currently includes Hawaiian Genealogy Indexes, Hawaiian Place Names Collection, Historic Sites Database, Mahele ‘Aina Indexes, Maps and Newspapers. You will need to create an account, separate from your UH account, to search the Papakilo Database.
- Kapi'olani Resources
Website containing information on the following: Ethnobotany of the Ahupua'a, Hawai'i Weather Patterns, the Hawai'i Nisei Story, Roads of Oku: Travels in Japan, the Taiwan Cross-Strait Directory, and Traditions of O'ahu.
- Maps of Henry E. P. Kekahuna
Heiau Maps drawn by Henry E. P. Kekahuna
- Hawaiian Place Names
Place names compiled from the Records of Boundary Commission and the Board of COmmissioners to Quiet Land Titles of the Kingdom of Hawai'i.
- Blount Report, Hawai'i Organic Act, & Anti Annexation Petition
Digitized versions of the Blount Report, Hawai'i Organic Act, and Anti-Annexation Petition available here.
Available online from Ulukau. Go to Glossary to find listing of place names.
Places Associated with Legends, Winds & Rains