This is the "Authors" page of the "English" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English  

Last Updated: Feb 8, 2017 URL: http://libguides.kauai.hawaii.edu/english Print Guide RSS Updates

Authors Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

There are several resources in the library and online that can help you start your research on specific authors and their works. Background information can be found in reference sources, such as encyclopedias, author biographies, and literature guides. 

There are general literature reference tools as well as author- or subject-specific resources in the Reference Collection, located on the first floor of the library. It could be useful to browse the PN (general literature), PR (English literature), or PS (American literature) call number ranges to see if your topic is represented in a specialized reference work.

  • P 101 - 409 Language (General)
  • PE - English Dictionaries
  • PL 6446 - Hawaiian Dictionaries
  • PN - Literary History and Criticism, Drama, Journalism
  • PR - English Literature
  • PS - American Literature
  • PZ - Juvenile Literature
 

Finding Books on Authors

Photo: London Book Fair

When searching for books about authors, type in the author's name in the search box and use the drop down box (to the right of the search box) to choose "SUBJECT (SKEY)" instead of the default,  "Keyword Anywhere."  You can then locate books ABOUT the author (biographies, critical reviews)  not by the author.

To find literary criticism, use the search method suggested above (the author's name as a subject search),  and add the term "criticism."

 

Finding Journal Articles on Authors & Their Works

The Dictionary of Literary Biography Online offers comprehensive literary biographies written by scholars of more than 140,000 authors. Entries include information on authors' lives, careers and critical reviews of their works.

Academic Search Complete can be searched by author's name and the PE (People) box checked in the "Select a Field (optional)" drop down box to the right of the search box.

Gale Literary Sources from the Hawaii State Public Library System contains critical reviews for over 130,000 authors. You must have a public library card in order to access this database. Choose the Literature Resource Center near the bottom of the database list, after you have logged i

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Contemporary Authors
Call Number: REF Z 1224 .C6a
Brief biographical information on thousands of modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers and journalists from the United States and other English speaking countries. Many entries of prominent authors, contain critical commentaries about their major works.

Cover Art
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Call Number: REF PN 771 .C59
Literary criticism is the analysis, interpretation, and description of literary works. This 260+ volume set covers the works of authors who are active or who died after December 31, 1959. Each author profile provides full-text or excerpted criticism from books, literary reviews, magazines, scholarly journals and newspapers.

Credo Reference

  • Credo Reference
    An essential tool to find background information on authors. Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 100 videos. Must use UH login and password to access off-campus.

Websites

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip