Online Research & Writing Guides
- Purdue University's Online Writing LabThis helpful resource takes you completely through the writing process and includes solid information on how to develop effective writing skills, such as tips on how to develop a thesis statement, how to write effective essays, and help with rules of grammar and punctuation.
- LILO - Learning Information Literacy OnlineLILO is a tutorial used throughout the UH System. It is designed to help students develop college level research skills in 6 interactive modules:
1. The Research Process
2. Understanding Your Assignment
3. Search Strategies
4. Searching
5. Evaluating Resources
6. Using Resources - Evaluating Information Found on the InternetFrom Johns Hopkins University, this guide provides an in-depth examination of evaluation criteria.
- Research and Documentation OnlineVery useful information for finding, evaluating and citing information by subject or academic discipline: art, literature, philosophy, religion, world history, American history, anthropology, psychology, sociology, biology, physics, nursing, business, and many more.
- How to Prepare an Annotated BibliographyFrom Cornell University, this page explains the structure and content of annotated bibliographies.
- Avoiding Plagiarism TutorialFrom Leeward Community College.
Copyright & Fair Use Information
Online Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Factbooks
- Britannica: Academic EditionFind background information on thousands of topics from a reliable publisher.
A University of Hawaii subscription. - Miriam Webster OnlineThis site offers a simple search form for the Merriam Webster Dictionary and the Merriam Webster Thesaurus.
- World FactbookProduced by the CIA, this site provides information on the history, people, government, and economy of 267 countries.
- The 2012 Statistical Abstract of the United StatesA major source of economic, social, and educational statistics for the U.S.
- State of Hawaii Data Book
Online Citation Guides and Builders
- MLA Formatting and Style GuidePurdue University's OWL site offers samples of MLA entries.
- APA Format and GuideAlso from Purdue's OWL site.
- APA Style Tutorial on YouTubeFrom David Taylor, a senior writing advisor at University of Maryland University College's Effective Writing Center. Has been viewed over 499,000 times.
- APA 6th Edition TutorialFrom the American Psychological Association, this slide show covers the basics of APA style of citation, which is used in the Social Sciences.
- Chicago Manual Style 16th EditionFrom Purdue University's OWL.
- Turabian Citation GuideFrom the University of Chicago Press, which publishes the Turabian guide.
- BibMe"A fully automatic bibliography maker that auto-fills."
- Citation BuilderFrom North Carolina State University Library, this is another popular program for automatically formatting references in a bibliography or reference list.
- Citation MachineAn interactive Web tool that formats your entries to create standard APA or MLA citations.
- NoodleTools Express
Loading...
