This is the "Research Help" page of the "Distance Education Library Services" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Distance Education Library Services  

Last Updated: Mar 20, 2017 URL: http://libguides.kauai.hawaii.edu/distance Print Guide RSS Updates

Research Help Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

KCC Tutoring Services

The Tutoring Services Center, located in the Learning Commons on the first floor of the Library, offers one on one tutoring by volunteer faculty , community and student trained tutors. The appointment and general information phone number is 245-8341. Tutoring is offered for the following subjects: Accounting, Business, Math, Spanish, Speech, Writing, and Zoology.

Also check out the online tutoring service Brain Fuse (available to UH community colleges through the UH Portal. Sign into your account and go to the MyTools tab and click the Connect Now button under Brain Fuse).

 

Student ID Validation

UH Distance students taking courses from UH Manoa, UH Hilo, or UH West Oahu need to VALIDATE their student ID numbers online each semester in order to access online library resources.

Each of these libraries has unique online databases, which can only be accessed by currently enrolled students at each respective campus.

Online validation is not immediate - it will take 1 or more days, excluding week-ends and holidays.

Research Help - Ask a Librarian

Ask - A - Librarian Services

Kauai CC distance students can ask the Kauai Community College reference librarians questions by e-mail and phone (245-8352)

UH Manoa students can use the Ask Us page to ask about library and online resources. You can also contact UHM subject librarians for research help: Business, Humanities & Social Sciences, Science & Technology, and Hawaiian & Pacific.

UH Hilo students can use the Ask -A-Librarian E-mail Service to ask librarians questions about research and library resources.

UH West Oahu students can ask questions by chat by going to the UHWO Contact Us! page.

      

    Online Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Factbooks

    • Credo Reference
      An essential tool to find background information on research topics and to generate synonyms for keywords. Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ images and audio files, and nearly 100 videos. Must use UH login and password to access off-campus.
    • Encyclopedia Britannica
    • Miriam Webster Online
      This site offers a simple search form for the Merriam Webster Dictionary and the Merriam Webster Thesaurus.
    • World Factbook
      Produced by the CIA, this site provides information on the history, people, government, and economy of 267 countries.

    Online Research & Writing Guides

    • Purdue University's Online Writing Lab
      This helpful resource takes you completely through the writing process and includes solid information on how to develop effective writing skills, such as tips on how to develop a thesis statement, how to write effective essays, and help with rules of grammar and punctuation.
    • Evaluating Information Found on the Internet
      From Johns Hopkins University, this guide provides an in-depth examination of evaluation criteria.
    • Research and Documentation Online
      Very useful information for finding, evaluating and citing information by subject or academic discipline: art, literature, philosophy, religion, world history, American history, anthropology, psychology, sociology, biology, physics, nursing, business, and many more.

    Online Citation Guides and Builders

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip