LibGuides: Library Research Tutorials and Guides: Finding & Developing Topics for Research Assignments

Finding Research Topics

There are many online library sources to find topics for research assignments, if you are asked to choose and not sure where to start. They range from databases that focus on current national and international issues to those that focus on local issues, such as locally published newspapers and magazines/journals.

For topics related to Hawaii and Kauai, the best sources may be located in local newspapers and magazines.

Here are some sites that offer hundreds of research ideas.

CQ Researcher is a weekly journal that has been focusing on current, controversial topics since 1923. Each single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. It is known for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. It includes a broad overview of the issue, the historical background, and opposing viewpoints of experts on the subject.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains 19,000+ Pro/Con arguments and 13,000+ Topic Overviews. A great resource for research papers.

Procon.org is a public policy non-profit organization that offers information on 42 controversial issues.

Hot Paper Topics from St. Ambrose University offers ideas for over 45 current topics.

If you are researching a topic closer to home in Hawaii and the Pacific Region, you might want to look at local newspapers, journals, and magazines.

Garden Island Newspaper
To search for past articles, click on the link, "Search " on the purple navigation bar at the top of the screen.

Honolulu Star Advertiser Newspaper 2010 - current (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text from June 7, 2010 to present.
Formed from the merger of the Honolulu Star Bulletin & the Honolulu Advertiser in 2010.
Requires current UH user name & password.
Hawaii Pacific Journal Index This link opens in a new window
An index to newspapers, magazines, and journals published in Hawaiʻi and the Pacific region. Ask a librarian for help in locating the full-text of these articles.
Hawaiian Journal of History This link opens in a new window
First published in 1967, this is an annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Each issue includes articles on a variety of subjects; illustrations; book reviews; notes and queries; and a bibliography of Hawaiiana titles of historical interest.
Environment Hawaii This link opens in a new window
Covers important environmental issues, from fisheries management to endangered species protection to native forest restoration and more.

Developing Your Topic

This video from East Carolina University shows how to refine your topic depending results from your initial searches on background information.

Next: Developing a Search Strategy