UH Distance students taking courses from UH Manoa, UH Hilo, or UH West Oahu need to VALIDATE their student ID numbers online each semester in order to access online library resources.
Each of these libraries has unique online databases, which can only be accessed by currently enrolled students at each respective campus.
Online validation is not immediate - it will take 1 or more days, excluding week-ends and holidays.
To learn the basics of searching EBSCO Host databases, try these tutorials for both general and subject specific databases.
As a UH student you have access to thousands of online journal articles through our subscription databases. All UH libraries provide access to the EBSCO Host databases, which include Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, CINAHL, Health Source Nursing, Professional Development Collection (education), GreenFile, and many others.
UH Manoa, UH Hilo, and UH West Oahu suscribe to unique databases that support their programs and courses, and that may not be available to UH System students from other campuses. Distance students taking courses at these campuses can access these databases by using the library websites at their respective campuses, because many of these databases are not available through the Kauai CC library website.
UHWO students can browse a list of subscription databases or look up a list of subject specific databases.
For full-text journal articles online, try the Electronic Resources page on the Hamilton Library website. To look at resources by subject, check out this List of Guides. Each guide will have a tab for articles at the top of the page to lead you to online journal databases for that subject. Examples of guides for popular UHM programs follow:
UH Hilo students can search for online journals 4 different ways: using large multi-subject databases, using subject specific databases, browsing an aphabetical list of databases, or searching by specific journal title.