This is the "Books & Articles" page of the "Botany" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Botany  

Last Updated: Sep 12, 2016 URL: http://libguides.kauai.hawaii.edu/botany Print Guide RSS Updates

Books & Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Botany Research Guide

Use this guide to find journal articles, books, websites and more on Botany and ethnobotany, including information on medicinal plants, invasive species, native Hawaiian plants, and endangered species.

 

Search the UH Voyager Catalog for Books

 

Films on Demand

Our subscription to Films on Demand offers access to thousands of streaming videos.  

The following film, Plant Biology: Core Concepts Video Clip Library is a compilation of 32 two- to three-minute segments illustrating key botanical concepts.


 

 

Need Help?

E-mail the KCC Librarians:

kccisl@hawaii.edu

KCC Reference Desk Phone:

808-245-8253

KCC Circulation Desk Phone:

808-245-8233

 

Featured Books

Cover Art
Loulu: the Hawaiian Palm - Donald R. Hodel
Call Number: Electronic Book
ISBN: 9780824835675
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
The Private Life of Plants - David Attenborough
Call Number: General Collection QK 50 .A77 1995

Cover Art
Flora Mirabilis - Catherine H. Howell
Call Number: General Collection QK 15 .H695 2009


Cover Art
Sex, Botany, and Empire - Patricia Fara
Call Number: UH Manoa QH44 .F37 2003

Cover Art
The Botany of Desire - Michael Pollan
Call Number: General Collection QK 46.5 .H85 P66 2001

Journal Article Databases

  • Ethnobotany Research and Applications
    Quarterly journal published by the Botany Department at UH Manoa.
  • EBSCO Academic Search Complete
    A multi-disciplinary database that provides full-text for over 8,500 journals. This is the major database for UH system users that covers multiple subjects. You must have a valid UH student number to access off-campus.
  • Science Direct
    Science Direct is a full-text scientific database offering science, medical and technical journal articles and book chapter from more than 2,500 peer reviewed journal and more than 11,000 books.
  • Hawaii Pacific Journal Index
    The Hawaii Pacific Journal Index is a citation index (not full-text) that covers 140 journals published in or about Hawaii and the Pacific. It covers all subjects and includes peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as popular press magazines. Coverage dates back to the 1890s. All publication titles are available through Hamilton Library.
  • Pacific Science
    Online access to the journal, Pacific Science, from Volume 1 (1947) through Volume 65 (2011).
 

Print Journals in the Library

Cover Art
Pacific Science
The current issues are on the first floor. Older issues are in storage and also available online through 2011. See link above.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip