This is the "Home" page of the "American History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American History  

Last Updated: Oct 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.kauai.hawaii.edu/amhistory Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Journal Article Databases

  • EBSCO Academic Search Complete
    A multi-disciplinary database that provides full-text for over 8,500 journals. This is the major database for UH system users that covers multiple subjects. You must have a valid UH student number to access off-campus.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR is available through the Hawaii State Public Library System. You must have a library card number and PIN to access.
  • Hawaiian Journal of History
    "First published in 1967, this is an annual scholarly journal devoted to original articles on the history of Hawai‘i, Polynesia, and the Pacific area. Each issue includes articles on a variety of subjects; illustrations; book reviews; notes and queries; and a bibliography of Hawaiiana titles of historical interest."

Primary Sources on the Web

 

Quick Search for Books

Searches all UH System Library Catalogs.

 

Need Help?

E-mail the KCC Librarians:

kccisl@hawaii.edu

KCC Reference Desk Phone:

808-245-8253

KCC Circulation Desk Phone:

808-245-8233

 

Credo Reference

New! An essential tool to find background information on research topics. Search > 838 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, and quotations, as well as 200,000+ images. Must use UH login and password to access off-campus.

Search
 

Featured Film: The Bomb

The Bomb (2016)explores how what started as simple scientific curiosity ultimately resulted in a weapon capable of ending civilization. From PBS 1 hr. 54 min. Available thru Films on Demand. Requires UH user name & password.

 

Featured Film - After the Mayflower We Shall Remain: America Through Native Eyes

The PBS miniseries We Shall Remain tells five heartbreaking yet inspiring stories. Together they highlight Native American ingenuity and resilience over the course of 300 years. This is the first episode  of the five-part series, which shows how Native peoples valiantly resisted expulsion from their lands and fought the extinction of their culture. This Films on Demand documetary requires a current UH login and password.

 

Featured Books

Cover Art
A People's History of the United States - Howard Zinn
Call Number: General Collection E169.1 Z53
ISBN: 0060528370
Publication Date: 2003-04-01


Cover Art
Entertainment in the Old West - Jeremy Agnew
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK
ISBN: 0786462809
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
Women and Slavery in America - Catherine M. Lewis; J. Richard Lewis
Call Number: ELECTRONIC BOOK
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
Driven West: Andrew Jackson and the Trail of Tears to the Civil War - A. J. Langguth
Call Number: General Collection E338 .L36 2010
Publication Date: 2010

Films On Demand - American History

Films on Demand offers online access to 720 films related to American History. Here is a sample of the types of films that are available. Go to the Films on Demand Subject - History page for a full listing of titles.

 

U.S. War Office of War Information Poster 1942

Avenge Pearl Harbor Poster

World War II Poster Collection, Northwestern University

Historical Images

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip